About us

The Transcarpathia Benefit Society Inc. supports people in the area of Transcarpathia in Ukraine, a region mentioned only with extreme rarity and having very low coverage in the headlines of the media in the West.

The area of Transcarpathia is located in the southwest of Ukraine on the border to Hungary. It is not one of the preferred target areas for western relief organizations. Due to the unemployment rate of nearly 80% and a lack of social safeguard programs on the one hand, and the low income on the other hand (at one time wages were between €100 and €80 a month), the people do without many everyday things we in the West take for granted. The consequences of the war in the east of Ukraine have made living conditions dramatically worse. The exchange rate for Ukrainian currency with respect to the euro has fallen drastically. By the same token prices have increased. Since wages and benefits have remained steady the people now have to get by with somewhat over a third of their former income. They can no longer afford even the most elementary things. It is normal today in a drug store to buy just 2 or 3 pills at a time! A retiree has to spend as much as one-third of his fixed income just to buy bread. If he needs medicine too, there is not enough for the electric bill.

Market in BeregszászChristmas packages and gifts obstruction work

By means of personal contacts through the Society, our relief aid arrives directly and safely.  A close cooperation exists with the congregations of the Evangelical Reformed Church of Transcarparthia.

We are not one of the large relief organizations. That gives us the advantage of a more personal and direct operation. We take small steps appropriate to the extent of our possibilities. A large part of our support deals with special projects. In practice there are certain restrictions that occur at the Ukrainian border. Nevertheless there are still a good number of opportunities to help.

 

How to help?

click here

 

Pastor Sándor Zán Fábián  (Bishop of the Reformed Church of Transcarpathia),  Michael Dörffel, Johannes Müller, Christian Ehrler und Ronny Schwabe.

Society information

Address:
Hilfsverein Unterkarpaten e.V.
D - 08485   Lengenfeld
Hauptstraße 31
Germany
Telephone/Fax: +49-37606-37880

Society offices:
Lengenfeld im Vogtland
Freistaat Sachsen (Free State of Saxony)
Germany

Bank information:
IBAN:   DE57 870 58 000 381 20 10 908
BIC:     WELADED1PLX

Register of associations:
No. 30560 at the municipal court of Chemnitz

Contact person:
Voluntary chairman: Christian Ehrler, Hauptstraße 31, 08485 Lengenfeld

Board members:
Michael Dörffel, Johannes Müller, Ronny Schwabe

Über uns

... unterstützt Menschen im Gebiet Unterkarpaten in der Ukraine, einer Region, die nur äußerst selten und in sehr geringem Maße in den Schlagzeilen westlicher Medien steht. 

Das Gebiet Unterkarpaten liegt im Südwesten der Ukraine an der Grenze zu Ungarn. Es gehört auch nicht zu den bevorzugten Zielgebieten westlicher Hilfsorganisationen. Durch ca. 80% Arbeitslosigkeit ohne soziale Absicherung einerseits und niedrige Einkommen andererseits (ehemals zwischen 80-100 €  Lohn) fehlt es den Menschen an vielen Dingen des täglichen Lebens, die für uns normal und selbstverständlich sind. Durch die Auswirkungen des Krieges im Osten der Ukraine haben sich die Lebensbedingungen noch einmal dramatisch verschlechtert. Der Wechselkurs der ukrainischen Währung zum Euro ist drastisch gefallen. Entsprechend erhöht haben sich jedoch die Preise. Durch die stabilen Löhne bzw. Renten müssen die Menschen heute mit etwas mehr als einem Drittel ihres früheren Einkommens leben. Sie können sich selbst elementarste Dinge nicht mehr leisten. So ist es heute üblich, dass in den Apotheken nur 2 oder 3 Tabletten gekauft werden! Ein Rentner muss allein ein Drittel seiner Rente für den Kauf von Brot ausgeben. Kommt ein Medikament dazu, reicht das Geld nicht für die Stromrechnung.

Markt in BeregszászMarkt in BeregszászWeihnachtspäckchenaktionWeihnachtspäckchenaktionBehindertenarbeitBehindertenarbeit

Durch persönliche Verbindungen des Vereins kommt unsere Hilfe direkt und sicher an. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit besteht mit den Gemeinden der evangelischen Reformierten Kirche der Unterkarpaten.

Wir gehören nicht zu den großen Hilfswerken. Das hat den Vorteil, dass bei uns vieles persönlicher und direkter abläuft. Wir gehen kleine Schritte entsprechend dem Maß unserer Möglichkeiten. Ein großer Teil unserer Unterstützung erfolgt projektbezogen. Aus der Praxis an der ukrainischen Grenze resultieren gewisse Einschränkungen für unsere Hilfe. Trotzdem bleiben noch genügend Möglichkeiten. 

 

Wie kann man helfen?

Mehr Informationen finden sie unter "Helfen

Pfarrer Sándor Zán Fábián (Bischof der Reformierten Kirche Unterkarpaten), Michael Dörffel, Johannes Müller, Christian Ehrler und Ronny Schwabe (v.l.n.r.). Pfarrer Sándor Zán Fábián (Bischof der Reformierten Kirche Unterkarpaten), Michael Dörffel, Johannes Müller, Christian Ehrler und Ronny Schwabe (v.l.n.r.).

Vereinsdaten

Adresse:
Hilfsverein Unterkarpaten e.V.
D - 08485   Lengenfeld
Hauptstraße 31
Telefon/Fax: +49-37606-37880

Sitz des Vereins:
Lengenfeld im Vogtland
Freistaat Sachsen

Bankverbindung:
IBAN:   DE57 870 58 000 381 20 10 908
BIC:     WELADED1PLX

Vereinsregister:
Nr. 30560 beim Amtsgericht Chemnitz

Ansprechpartner:
ehrenamtlicher Geschäftsführer: Christian Ehrler, Hauptstraße 31, 08485 Lengenfeld

Vorstandsmitglieder:
Michael Dörffel, Johannes Müller, Ronny Schwabe